Type to search

Rebolledo Readies Kompakt Mixtape



Mexico has found it easy to hit international headlines in recent years, although admittedly not always for the most pleasant of reasons. But away from the brutality of the drug wars affecting some areas, the country’s electronic music scene has had house lovers the world over sitting up and starting to take notice.

2014 will see the seventh year of the country’s renowned BPM Festival. Held across ten days in Playa del Carmen – the Mayan Riviera resort is as close as Mexico gets to Ibiza’s glossy, beautiful scene – the January festival’s line up featured over 100 artists this year including the likes of Damian Lazarus, Loco Dice, Nic Fanciulli and Richie Hawtin. Promoters have tipped 2014 to be bigger and better, while Barcelona’s legendary Sonar festival announced that next year will see their first ever event in Mexico City, only the second time the festival’s been in Mexico since it played the city of Guadalajara back in 2004.

But it’s not just in the Americas that Mexican artists are taking over with the likes of Rebolledo taking Europe by storm after being confirmed to be releasing a new album set to land on iconic German imprint Kompakt this Spring. Entitled ‘Momento Drive’ the new mix CD was curated with a sad realiastion that physical DJ mixtapes are “just something you don’t do anymore,” with Kompakt stating that to their mind such a mix compilation can be “just as engaging and idiosyncratic as any artist album.”

The mix will contain 15 carefully selected cuts that include several of the Rebolledo’s own productions alongside tracks from his collaborative project Pachanga Boys and efforts from Kompakt favourites Wolfgang Voigt and Justus Köhncke amongst others.

Check out the full tracklisting below:


01 Wally Gonzalez – Wally’s Blues (Rebo Intro Edit) 02 Barnt – Is This What They Were Born For? 03 Slove – Flash (Pachanga Boys Hippie Dance) 04 Wolfgang Voigt – Du Musst Nichts Sagen (Fanfaren Mix) 05 Rebolledo – Windsurf, Sunburn And Dollar 06 Christian S. – Jagos / Sebastien Bouchet – Tempestuous 07 Gebr. Teichmann – Dance And More 08 C.A.R. – Angelina (Manfredas Instrumental) 09 Red Axes – Caminho De Dreyfus (Rebolledo Remix) 10 The Lovesupreme – Pork Chop Express 11 VoxLow – See The Light ( Ivan Smagghe Remix ) 12 Pachanga Boys – Poem For The Youth 13 Justus Köhncke – Homogen 14 The Twins – You Gotta Twin In The Attic (You Lunatic) 15 Wally Gonzalez – Wally ́s Blues (Rebo Outro Edit)

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

Leave a Comment