Type to search

Music News

Ka Fu releases his second single, ‘Empty Days’


Experimental electronic producer Ka Fu releases his second single, ‘Empty Days’ on 9th August. It comes from his upcoming debut album ‘Encoding: Master’, via Hidden Vibes (Zoo Brazil, Death on the Balcony, Powel, Beatamines).

The debut album, due to be released on the 4th of October, is an eclectic release revealing an extremely rich palette of sonic influences. The mixing of the album was handled by Klas-Henrik Lindblad (Anja Schneider, Rodriguez Jr., The Presets) from Berlin BlackHead Studios.

While currently based in Milan, Ka Fu originally comes from the previously closed military Russian city of Severodvinsk which, produced nuclear submarines on the banks of the White Sea.

Musically, Ka Fu has been greatly influenced by the moody and dynamic sound of Depeche Mode, which you can hear in ‘Empty Days’. The track starts off with a flashback to 90s style sci-fi rhythms and progresses forward, creating a modern twist on the traditional beats that would be associated with the genre.

If you are a fan of Depeche Mode like us at Data Transmission, you are going to love Ka Fu, that’s for sure! The production of this track is incredible, you can fall in love with Ka Fu after hearing it.

He says about ‘Empty Days’ “If you have the sound of Violator or Ultra (Depeche Mode) in your headphones while going by suburban train every day then you have a certain sound code in your veins. “Ultra” turned those grey days into meaningful time: I started to think and not only exist and the transformation had begun. In “Empty Days” I’m using this code of melancholic dynamic especially in bassline and then layering minor synth leads for going closer to what once has touched me deeply and changed the life. So that “Empty Days” is a statement of the power to think and to identify yourself as a unique blessed human even in a “dead-end race” and then turn the greyness of your outdoor into your personal revolution.”.

We premiere ‘Empty Day’s today, check it out below and grab it from Beatport.

Encoding: Master tracklist
01 Hypnotised
02 Opposites ft. Roubs
03 Frozen
04 Empty Days 
05 Where Everything’s Ours
06 Opening Window With Sal
07 Good And Grey
08 Jim’s Annihilation
09 Meet You There
10 Being Normal
11 After All