Type to search

Music News

Flip Fantazia unleash their debut album ‘The Trip’


Fresh from their release on John Digweed’s Bedrock Records under their more covert Techno guise ‘Cypherpunx’ the Brighton based duo Flip Fantazia unleash their debut album ‘The Trip’.

Touching on influences from Air to Bonobo, The xx to DJ Shadow, ‘The Trip’ guides you down a road less travelled meandering through Downtempo, Electronica & Trip Hop with a few Jazzy twists & turns.

Essentially Flip Fantazia aka Douglas Horner & Tim Belcher is a meeting of two minds, four hands. They have several synths, quite a few guitars, some very clever computer software with a variety of drum machines. The prolific duo spends most of their time writing, recording, producing, mixing & mastering original music down in an old bank vault in Brighton… well, Hove actually!

Born from a project focussed mainly on music for Sync, writing for Ninja Tune PM, Cavendish Music, Delimusic, BMG PM & Deep East. Writing to brief is a delight & an adventure for Flip Fantazia covering many genres. They have authentic Samba to electro-disco new-wave post-modern cosmic soul-funk afro-boogie punk alt+indie dance crossover and everything in between! So it was tough to narrow The Trip down to 10 original tracks which best illustrate the authentic Flip Fantazia sound.

The Trip is a 10 track album is out now on Ellon Music from https://flipfantazia.bandcamp.com

A1 Hombre – 5:54
A2 Breathe – 3:58
A3 Wombarra – 3:42
A4 S900 ft ERaze- 3:22
A5 Protect & Serve ft Ursula Rucker – 4:36
B1 Play The Crowd – 3:29
B2 Fracture – 5:25
B3 Fly By Night – 5:33
B4 Sliver Spoon – 3:36
B5 Free By Design – 4:13