Type to search

Brandt Brauer Frick Give Away Exclusive DJ Kicks Cut



Despite being a vintage 12 months for electronic music in most respects, the compilations of 2013 were the Achilles heel of the year with only a handful of releases by some of the more esteemed compilation series really grabbing our attention and delivering the ‘wow’ factor. One of those series that consistently impressed was undoubtedly IK7’s DJ-Kicks and so you can imagine our excitement at the announcement of the them hooking up with fellow DT favourites Brandt Brauer Frick for their next edition.

A quick look at the tracklist showed an eclectic smorgasbord of talent harvested by the Berlin trio for their mix with acts as varied as African musician William Onyeabor and Theo Parris making appearances in the opening stanzas before becoming more dancefloor orientated with efforts from the likes of  meteorically rising producer French Fries and Cosmin TRG.

Speaking on the mix one third of the trio Paul Frick explained that the mix might be different to what fans may have expected stating: “I definitely think the mix shows a different side of us. I think people will be surprised. Some songs are certainly very different from what we do, things we would love to express, but can’t or don’t want to do it the way it’s done in these songs. But actually you can hear a lot of elements that are similar to something we did or will do, but in our songs we mostly look for different sound aesthetics and would combine that element with something else. And the switch between 4/4 kicks and more broken beats is something we do a lot, on our records and on this mix.”

Also set to feature exclusive new cuts from artists such as Dollkraut, Cosmin TRG and Brandt Brauer Frick we cannot wait for the release to land on February 24th and have had our excitement ramped up with IK7 first revealing exclusive compilation cut ‘Bommel’  and giving away another album exclusive ‘Hugo’ which you download over at Official.FM or via the player below:


Check out the track listing below.

Tracklist 01. Jan Jelinek – HipBird 02. Inkswel – Australaborialis 03. Theo Parrish – Electric Alleycat 04. Dollkraut – Rollercoaster  05. William Onyeabor – Better Change Your Mind 06. Max Graef – Bummse 07. Brandt Brauer Frick – Bommel  08. Kingdom – Stalker Ha 09. Parental Control – Feel Like / Le K – Abraz  10. Alfabet (Awanto 3 & Tom Trago) – Lap The Music 11. Fantastic Man – Late At Night 12. Brandt Brauer Frick – Out Of Tash  13. Galaxy 2 Galaxy feat. Atlantis – Transition 14. Peverelist – Sun Dance 15. DJ Do Bass – To Catchy 16. French Fries – White Screen 17. Chico Mann – Soul Freedom 18. James Braun & Troels Abrahamsen – Wooden Knuckles  19. Glenn Astro – How I Miss You  20. Philogresz – Edge 21. Bok Bok & Tom Trago – Vector 22. Cosmin TRG – Echolab Disaster  23. MMM – Re-tics 24. Jam City – How We Relate To The Body 25. Brandt Brauer Frick – Hugo (DJ-Kicks) 26. Machinedrum – Now U Know Tha Deal 4 Real 27. Thundercat – Tenfold 28. Dean Blunt – Galice

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

Leave a Comment