Type to search

Deetron announces ‘DoubleSix Takes Vol. 1’


Techno maven, Sam Geiser aka Deetron drops his first double pack EP on self-proclaimed label Character‘DoubleSix Takes Vol.1’. The 5-tracker laid across two fresh press vinyl’s introduces a new side to the Swiss purveyor.

When you hear Deetron you think hard-thumping techno and tech house, but the artist exposes a lighter side to his soul on DST Vol. 1. Layers of manipulated samples, warped synths and loopy vocals atop wavy, vintage grooves. Masterfully crafted together by pristine funk, soul and hip-hop production techniques makes for five very dancefloor friendly tunes.

The EP opens on an upward spiral with ‘I Got To Have You’, a winding instrumental and vocal build that releases into a crisp disco breakdown. Continuing on this curvy road is ‘Take Me Higher’, a steady, sluggish bassline with piercing chords and an infectious female vocal that truly takes you higher. Slide into the close of side one with ‘The Grand Cruiser’, a cheeky groove armed with a sleazy vocal and a whole lot of attitude.

Breathing energy into the second side of this funky, intergalactic adventure is ‘Blues’, a jazzy outer-space groove that oozes 90’s funk nostalgia. And for the close comes the “heartbeat” of the collection: ‘Supper in Casa Blanca’ is an energetic, Latin-inspired dancefloor dream bedecked with expressive synths and rousing maracas.

Vinyl Tracklist:
A. I Got To Have You
B. Take Me Higher
C. The Grand Cruiser
D1. Supper In Casa Blanca
D2. Blues

Digital Tracklist:
1. I Got To Have You
2. Take Me Higher
3. The Grand Cruiser
4. Blues
5. Supper In Casa Blanca

‘DoubleSix Takes Vol.1’ releases on Character May 12th, 2017.