Type to search

Free Music Mix of the Day

Mix of the Day: Matt Walsh


Matt Walsh’s interest in DJing and production was fostered in the late 1990′s, while he was at university and progressive house was at its peak. Fast-forward a couple of years, a new decade heralded the birth of Electroclash and with it DJ Hell’s Gigolo Records, City Rockers and Playhouse. As Matt began to develop his trademark sound of modern disco-infused electronic house and techno, an offer of a residency at East London’s seminal T-Bar club set off a chain of events that would lead to Turbo Recordings don Tiga spotting him there in 2007. He then became a long term resident of Bugged Out!

Clouded Vision is not only his production alias, but also the clear minded platform to showcase the musical talent that has caught Matt Walsh’s sights. Clouded Vision Recordings was set up in 2009 and has since received critical acclaim by pioneering new talent from across the world, with releases from Dimitri Veimar, Remote, Remain, Dark Strands, Sebastien Tex, Eskimo Twins Markus Gibb, Morgan Hammer and Matt himself.  Matt has released material under his own name on Turbo Recordings and Kill The DJ, as well as his own label, and has recently remixed Daniel Avery, forthcoming on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sound.

Matt says “This mix was recorded in my studio at home in Margate at thre start of the summer. It contains 20 tracks that are not necessarily “upfront” but more a selection of favorite records that I have bought in the first half of this year, plus a couple of oldies thrown in. It also includes an original and a remix from the EP that I recently recorded with Stratowerx, AKA Sam Russo. Sam and I met through a mutual love of all things electro and minimalistic. After a few late night track swapping sessions with each other, we realised that our styles met very neatly together so it made sense to collaborate. The three tracks were made over a 6 month period via email, taking in turns to mix down and arrange the other producers live synth and drum recordings.”

Track List
1. Reedale Rise – Eternal Return
2. Oslo Roma – Twotet
3. Stratowerx & Matt Walsh – Almost
4. Savage Hymn – Animals
5. Solitary Dancer – Transmitting To Heaven
6. Vid Vai – Interstellar Cellar
7. Matt Star – Your Eyes
8. Lost Property – Track 2
9. Edward – Dekta
10. Juan Ramos – ATKM
11. Takeshi Onda – Lock It
12. Stratowerx & Matt Walsh – No Function (Scott Fraser Surface Pressure Remix)
13. Justin Cudmore – Duck Hunt
14. Stratowerx – Secret State – (Sync 24 Remix)
15. Modini – Estate
16. DeFeKT – MG2
17. Privacy – NCSC
18. Mstep – Cold Dust
19. Interstellar Funk – Caves of Steel (Convextion Remix)
20. Radioactive Man – Deep Space Habitat

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

You Might also Like