Type to search

Renegade Riddims: Cycene


Dean Morgan aka Cycene is a Cardiff-based DJ with a taste for all types of Drum & Bass, especially anything on the deep, dark or experimental sides. After picking up his first vinyl from Catapult Records many moons ago, his love for Drum & Bass was locked in! He has since supported artists such as Wingz and Objektiv and most recently played out for Concrete Junglists alongside heavyweights Ransom and Double A Side.

Now Cycene joins our Renegade Riddims series with a brand new exclusive mix. the mix features music from artists such as Break, Noisia, D*Minds, Anaïs, DLR, Bou, Klippee, Amoss, T95, Wingz, Sustance and loads more!

Check out the mix below and download it for free here!


Cycene artwork

Sum up this mix in 10 words…

Diverse drum and bass showcase with hard-hitting beats.

What’s your personal favourite track on it?

It has to be the iconic Diplodocus with that epic synth stab. Anything Noisia produces strikes a chord with me and this one is up there with their finest work. Diiiiiplooodooocuuus!!

What’s the special ingredient in this mix?

The good ol’ element of surprise!

What have you got coming up?

I’m rolling out at the Concrete Junglists rooftop rave headlined by Bladerunner 28th July and also starting my music production journey.

When was the last time you actually raved?

Back in May for bank holiday! Though if you’d have asked me that last year, it would have been a waaay more embarrassing answer!

And finally, do you have a special message for our readers?

I heard something recently which resonated with me and I’m looking to apply this daily so I don’t get stuck in my comfort zone. Hopefully it lights a fire for somebody else out there too!!

“Comfort kills ambition. So get uncomfortable and get used to it in your pursuit of your goals and dreams.”


Kasra & VISLA – Azure

Murph – Ground

Circuits – Wingwalker (Hyroglifics Remix)

Jorja Smith – Tomorrow (Invicta Bootleg Edit) [Free Download]

Resslek – NYE

Kumarachi – Become Dust

John B, Shaz Sparks – Shining In The Dark (Nu:Tone Remix)

QZB & Charli Brix – We Pretend

Wingz – Club Tool

Fluidity – Awaken

Sustance – Undercurrent

Erotic Cafe – Blind Mind

Basstripper – Ricochet

Klinical – Sinful V1P

Bou – Spook

Vromm – Level Up (feat. Rider Shafique)

HEFT – Darkestra

Tryst Temps – Strategic

Inja, T>I, Waeys – Flick the Switch (Waeys Remix)

Current Value, MVRK – Glottal Stop

Geostatic & TWO XY – FYI

Koherent – Dancing Soul

Rueben – Spyware 

Klippee – Raw

Odyssy – Run

Tweakz –  One More Time

DLR – Staying Up Late Making Music

Document One & Duskee – Technology

Break – Headshot (Original Mix)

Magenta, Critical J – Get Down (VIP)

clÜ (UK) – Mobsta

Harley D – The Way Your Moving (ALR Remix)

Nami & Fulltek – Strobspots (Fulltek remix)

Badger – Changes [Wang Records]

LoveTheEND – Songyuxin

Anaïs – want u

Audiomission – Woh 

Break – Another Life

Zed Bias – Pick Up the Pieces (Feat Boudah) (Skeptical Remix) 

Amoss – South Of The River

Flowdan – Shell A Verse (MALPRACTICE Edit)

Spectrasoul – Alibi (Enei Remix)

Pola & Bryson & Emily Makis – Phoneline

Fulltek – Red Phone

Alibi, Sl8r – Framed

T>I, Particle – Kill Switch

T95 – Movin

Rockwell – Gramma

Yunis, Rohaan – Dwidala (Mat Zo Remix)

Emperor – Glimpse (Original Mix)

Noisia – Diplodocus

D*Minds – Don’t Try It Again

Simula – Attack Mode