Type to search

Groove Armada mix Fabriclive 87



Andy Cato and Tom Findlay aka Groove Armada are the next to mix Fabriclive 87, due for release in May.

Groove Armada, are rooted in dance music’s seminal movements, with Andy Cato taking in Castlemorton and the free party scene, and Tom Findlay regularly attending the Hacienda during his formative university days in Manchester.  FABRICLIVE 87 represents the kind of house music – and importantly party music – that Groove Armada might drop in a typical Room 1 set, on a night where the vibes of the dancefloor align perfectly with the music of the DJ.

With 26 tracks the mix features tracks from The Revenge and Move D, before bedding in with groove-heavy cuts from the likes of Reset Robot, Nicole Moudaber and Hexxy, the latest project of Hercules & Love Affair’s Andy Butler. A brief deviation into the electro-inspired rhythms of Chicken Lips and Brassfoot opens into an ecstatic closing sequence, featuring Bicep, Rick (Poppa) Howard and their own 2012 Hypercolour cut ‘Stevie Latenight’, leaving the listener thirsting for more after seventy minutes of kinetic beats, rhythms and grooves. The launch party is happening at fabric on May 27th, the details are still TBA, so keep em’ peeled for more info!

Groove Armada says “It’s in Room 3 that we effectively wrote Superstylin’, or at least the idea for that track took serious shape. They were magical times, really. It’s been amazing returning to the club, a sense of coming home. A lot of the people involved when we first played there are still involved, so it felt easy to come back, it’s an overused description but fabric is family.”

01. Craig Smith & The Revenge – The Soul Part II
02. Flashmob – Don’t Leave (Instrumental Dub)
03. Kolja Gerstenberg – Sand (Move D Remix)
04. Reset Robot – On Your Knees
05. Essence – Moments In House (Full Effect Mix – DJ T. Edit)
06. Doc Daneeka – One For Pidge
07. Hexxy – Edging
08. Julien Sandre & Los Pastores – One More Time (Onno Remix)
09. Chez Damier – Untitled A1
10. Burnski – Your Love (Steve O’Sullivan Remix)
11. The Revenge – Incredible Shellsuit
12. Nicole Moudaber – Can I Get Some
13. Tiga – Plush (Dixon Re-Rub)
14. The Black 80s – Move On (Hollis P Monroe & Wrong Jeremy Mix)
15. Josh Wink – 516 Acid (Chicken Lips Acido Ze Boogie Mix)
16. Brassfoot – We Made It Out The Hood Ma
17. Skudge – Convolution
18. Anek & Medeew & Chicks Luv Us – Shake
19. Ross Evans – Let it Go
20. Pezzner – Prey (Fred Everything Re-Beat)
21. Digitaria feat. Clarian – Favourite Addiction (Groove Armada’s Dub Creation)
+ Acid Mondays – Interstellar Cake (Richy Ahmed Remix)
22. Aster – Cielo (Bicep Remix II)
23. Rick (Poppa) Howard – Can Your Love Find Its Way
24. Groove Armada – Stevie Latenight
25. Moon B – Starfight
26. Khan – On The Run (DJ Kaos &Me Remix)

Fabric Records will release Fabriclive 87 on May 20th, 2016 and you can listen to clips over at the fabric website.

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

You Might also Like