Type to search

Brennen Grey – Zero Sum Game EP [We Are the Brave]


Many people first discovered Brennen Grey via his bootleg track ‘Through The Lens’, which was eventually given an official release via Carl Cox’s Intec with a replaced vocal due to sample clearance issues. That track gave Brennen massive exposure to a worldwide audience that has led to him making many other high-profile releases on scene leading labels such as Kraftek, Respekt and most recently, Alan Fitzpatrick’s We Are The Brave.

Brennen Grey joins the We Are The Brave roster with a four track release titled the ‘Zero Sum Game EP’ which features four original tracks that are primed for dance floor detonation.

The EP’s title track ‘Zero Sum Game’ is a fine example of Brennen Grey’s trademark style that blends uplifting euphoria with thundering percussion. Reaching soaring heights in the breakdown, the track is soon plunged into darkness when it drops back in with the pounding kick drum.

‘Harsh Light Of Reality’ takes its energy from the melodic bassline that’s made even more epic by the ethereal vocals that get you reaching for the heavens. ‘Purified’ brings a focus to the percussion with a subby bassline rising up from the depths in the breakdown to unveil the sinister tones of an appreciated melody.

Last on the release is ‘Dawn Of Man’, which is arguably one of the stand out cuts with it’s high octane energy and distinctive use of unusual percussion sounds. With something of a middle eastern vibe, it’s an individual sounding track that has many stand out qualities.

A strong release from We Are The Brave who are romping up to their 50th release.

Score: 9/10

Buy from Beatport here:


You Might also Like