Type to search

NUDE168: Audio Units


Bangalore-based brotherly duo Ashwin and Ashrith Baburao combine as Audio Units on a potent new EP for Lady Tazz’s Mind Medizin, featuring remixes from Ben Sims and Temudo.

Audio Units are on a mission to understand the abstract concepts of science, mathematics, and the subconscious in their music. They are meticulous in their technical approach to making music but never at the expense of a sense of fantasy. They are pioneers in their native Bangalore, India, and each of their tracks is a perfect blend of intricacy and experimentation.

They have turned the heads of tastemakers on labels like Dynamic Reflection, ANAØH, Suara, and Molecular, as well as their imprint Observant. Now they join Lady Tazz’s Mind Medizin imprint with the superb ‘Aristoltelian Trafition’ EP. As the artists say, “We had always loved what Mind Medizin has been doing in terms of pushing new artists. We’re thrilled to have our debut vinyl on their imprint with these remixes. These tracks are very special to us and wanted to showcase a funkier side of our sound that has been influenced by 90’s techno.”

They open this high-octane EP with the raw and unrelenting drum funk of ‘Aristotelian Tradition’, which is run through with warped synths and carefully layered up with gritty percussion and FX. Vocal snippets and smeared pads further flesh out the groove, making for an uplifting sound. Hardgroove label head Ben Sims is a UK techno heavyweight at the forefront of the scene. His remix shows that as it ups the percussive energy and allows the synths and vocals more prominence with hypnotic effects.

The second original, ‘I’m Just All You Need,’ is a twisted and intense mix of fragmented vocals and pulsing synths over vast rock-solid kick drums. It’s an urgent track that cannot fail to sweep the floor off its feet and keep it locked for the ride. Next is a remix from new school tastemaker Temudo, who has already put out outstanding records on labels like Klockworks, Soma and Modularz. His version of ‘I’m Just All You Need’ strips it back to icy hi-hat loops and buffed metal synth lines that weave in and out of the minimal yet tribal techno drums. Last is the digital bonus ‘Realm Dust’, a turbocharged techno funk affair with paranoid and unrelenting synth leads adding to the inescapable tension.

The ‘Aristotelian Tradition’ EP is another superb release from Mind Medizin that combines the dark and kinky allure of techno with all-out dance floor dynamics.

Today, they join the NUDE Techno podcast, with an hour of Techno. Listen to it below on SoundCloud & Mixcloud. If you are feeling this series, then please consider supporting it on Mixcloud Select.

Sum up this podcast in 10 words…

A mechanical excursion into rhythm & groove

What’s your personal favourite track on it?

Sorry, but all of them 🙂

What’s the special ingredient in this mix?

The artists who made these tunes.

Tell us about your next EP? 

It’s actually our first vinyl EP featuring 3 originals and 2 remixes from Ben Sims and Temudo. We’re super grateful to the team at Mind Medizin and Lady Tazz for taking the time and love to present our music in the best possible way.

What have you got coming up? 

We’ve got a few EP’s scheduled for next year on some really lovely labels, but we can’t really speak about it right now. Other than that, we’ve working on our hardware-only live set that should see the light of the night very soon.

And finally, do you have a special message for our readers?

Dig deeper!


  1. Luke Slater – Grooving In A Cave (Original Mix) [The Third Room]
  2. Orbe – Andromeda (Part 3) (Original Mix) [Token]
  3. Arthur Robert – Tranquility (Original Mix)[Figure]
  4. Haumea – Made In Abyss (Original Mix) [United Rhythms]
  5. Shoal – Gerakan (Original Mix) [Tikita]
  6. David Löhlein – Ilyane (Original Mix) [SK_Eleven]
  7. A.Morgan – Shimmer – 5A – 140 [Newrhythmic]
  8. Ketch – Krokodil (Matrixxman Remix) [Syxt]
  9. TWR72 – Speed (Original Mix) [Float]
  10. Yogg – Nico´s Bass (Original Mix) [Non Series]
  11. Symbolism – Turiya (Original Mix) [Observant]
  12. MAWARI- Fluid (Original Mix) (Original Mix) [Aum Recordings]
  13. Red Rooms – Out Of Focus (Original Mix) [Room Trax]
  14. Decoder- Kalpavriksha (Original Mix) [AMTK+]
  15. A4- Year 2100 (Original Mix) [Warm Up Recordings]
  16. Are:gone – Above Us (Original Mix) [ANAØH]
  17. Z.I.P.P.O – Xukro (Original Mix)[SK_Eleven]
  18. Phyxix – Depths (Original Mix) [Phyxix]
  19. Julieta Kopp – Sortilegio (Original Mix) [Illegal Alien]
  20. Biri – Point Zero (Original Mix) [Figure]
  21. Terminus – Green Mirror (Alarico Remix) [PRX Records]
  22. Altinbas – Hunt (Original Mix) [Fuse]
  23. Forum – Fall From Grace (Original Mix) [Format]
  24. Elad Magdasi – BlueBox A2 (Original Mix) [Front Left Records]
  25. Setaoc Mass – Hide ‘n’ Seek (Original Mix) [Blueprint]
Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1