Type to search


NUDE127: Shay De Castro


Shay De Castro is an American artist from LA who has made a name for herself playing regular DJ sets across the US and Mexico. She has also made a splash on the international scene as she has been booked everywhere from Holland to Guatemala.

Shay is also a talented producer whose tracks have been played by the likes of Adam Beyer, Amelie Lens and Richie Hawtin and her tracks have been released by Spartaque’s Codex plus Andre Crom’s OFF Recordings and her latest release is an EP called ‘The Hills Devise’ on Spektre’s Respekt.

This exclusive podcast opens with one of the tracks from her new release and it’s a fiery mix of smoking hot techno cuts that Shay De Castro has been dropping in her club sets.

Today, she returns to the NUDE Techno podcast, with an hour of Techno. Listen to it below on SoundCloud & Mixcloud. If you are feeling this series, then please consider supporting it on Mixcloud Select.

Sum up this podcast in 10 words: 
Groovy, energetic, full of my current favourites and recent releases

What’s your personal favourite track on it? 
Aside from being biased and saying one of my own, I’d say Mayfie’s ‘Brain Mechanisms’. This guy’s tracks have been some of my secret weapons since 2018 when we first connected. 

What’s the special ingredient in this mix? 
Inspiration from my latest gigs, as I’ve been able to test them on a crowd, and see which ones get the best response.  

Tell us about your next EP? 
My next EP is a 2-tracker I’m really excited about on Spektre’s Respekt Recordings, called ‘The Hills Devise’.

The title track is a bit more ominous, with thundering bass stabs and a danceable lead melody great for peak time. It’s the more stripped-back brother of the two, complementing and contrasting its more dramatic partner.

‘Don’t Stop Now’ has a more cinematic feel with ethereal synths and a series of melancholic arps punctuated by vocals that lend to the title of the track. 

What have you got coming up?
I have some gigs I’m really looking forward to! On October 15th I’ll be returning to Mexico City to play for Vinyl Box, October 21st I’ll debut in Chicago at Primary Club, and just confirmed my first Indian tour for January 2023!  

And finally, do you have a special message for our readers? 
Thank you for your constant support, I hope to see you soon on a dance floor! 


  1. Shay De Castro – Don’t Stop Now (Original Mix)
  2. KJAER – Acid Over Berlin (Original Mix)
  3. Soolver – Forever (Original Mix)
  4. Joyhauser – Crawler (Original Mix)
  5. Ilija Djokovic – Pollux (Original Mix)
  6. Diego Infanzon – Es Vedra (Original Mix)
  7. Loco & Jam – Let’s Get Back (Original Mix)
  8. Robert S – Angels of Acid (original mix)
  9. Shay De Castro – The Hills Devise (Original Mix)
  10. Luca Marchese – Brainporting (original mix)
  11. Shay De Castro – Mapping the Heavens (Original Mix)
  12. Mayfie- Brain Mechanisms (Original Mix)
  13. Brennen Grey – Glass Eater (Original Mix)
  14. Metal Master – Spectrum (Bart Skils & Weska Reinterpretation)
Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1