Type to search


Steve Mac releases his ‘Bless This Acid House’ LP


From Chicago to Shoom get ready for ‘Bless This Acid House’ a new authentic album inspired by the dawn of Rave from UK producer & DJ Steve Mac. Overflowing with collaborations with original House icons including, Marshall Jefferson, Robert Owens, E Raze and the late Sleezy D

In the summer of 1988, so legendary folklore recalls, a new kind of music appeared in abandoned warehouses, industrial units and fields across the UK. A phenomenon that would come to be known as Acid House.

With direct influences from the USA especially that of Detroit and Chicago, as well as later Germany and Ibiza, it marked the dawn of the infamous and very British ‘Rave’ movement. The Second Summer of Love, as the summers of ’88-’89 became known, and with the help of a little newly synthesized compound MDMA redefined nightlife for generations to come in UK clubs such as Shoom and Spectrum.
One of the finest and most respected House music producers / DJs the UK has ever produced, Steve Mac was inspired by this, compelling him to release his new Acid and Classic House inspired album in collaboration with many of the scenes original and seminal greats entitled ‘Bless This Acid House‘.
This collection of brand new, authentic and original sounding House tracks transports you back to a time when House music was strictly underground and burgeoning. Featuring collaborations with some of Electronic Music’s most influential names including Marshall JeffersonE Raze, the late Sleezy D and Robert Owens
To date there have been two single releases from the album, the first is ‘Jack Said What’ containing a sample — a nod to the foundational house pillar of the mid-1980s — ‘Jack Said What’. The track also inspired the name of his Brighton-based record label. It is an authentic and well-produced raw house cut and an acid-tinged dancefloor slayer, filled with 303 and fizzy electro basslines which dominate throughout the track.

Followed by One Day’ a deep cut with all the hallmarks of a classic — think Frankie Knuckles ‘Tears’, or ‘I’ll Be Your Friend’, with its deep and memorable male vocal. Delivering the aesthetics of a Chicago house record recorded 30-something years ago, but with some modern production techniques. The vocal comes courtesy of Robert Owens, probably the greatest house music male vocalist of them all and a man whose golden voice has set the standard on many classics. 

Steve Mac himself has impeccable credentials, a UK house music heavy hitter he has been a pillar of the international house community from the start. He is a DJ, Producer and Record Label Boss of ‘Jack Said What’ Records in partnership with the infamous Trainspotting author Irvine Welsh.

With over 25 years of experience, he is respected and revered for his analogue production style. Mac has released tracks for many labels including Nervous, MoS, Cr2, Tool Room, Saved, Underwater and Ovum. His remix credentials are just as strong having worked with Jamiroquai, Simply Red and Michael Jackson’sreleases over the years. More recently he has been releasing under the name These Machines — a tribute to the amount of vintage analogue hardware he has in his studio in order to produce and expertly mix down his tracks.



1. Wish Featuring Robert Owens 
2. Take You There Featuring Sleezy D
3. This Is Acid Mate 
4. Spirit featuring Marshall Jefferson
5. My Mine Featuring MDMK
6. Jack Said What 
7. Go Bang 
8. The 313 Featuring Alana Maria 
9. The Changes Featuring Robert Owens and Danny Rampling 
10. Summer of Love Featuring E Raze
11. One Day featuring Robert Owens  

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

You Might also Like