Type to search

Music News

Simian Mobile Disco announce ‘Murmurations’



Simian Mobile Disco today announce details of their fifth full length studio album, ‘Murmurations’, due for release on 11 May via Wichita Records.

On the cusp of the 10th anniversary of their acclaimed debut album Attack Decay Sustain Release, James Ford and Jas Shaw had a chance to properly take stock, trace all the aesthetic threads in their work to date, and face the future confident and refreshed.  With that they deliver ‘Murmurations’ a thrilling 9-song set, which is as perfectly pitched for headphones as it is for clubs.

It’s named after  giant cloud formations of starlings and themed around the stunning emergent behaviours that appear within them. To mirror these movements in the sonic landscape and visuals of Murmurations, they collaborated with the celebrated Hackney-based vocal collective The Deep Throat Choir, as well as creative directors Kazim Rashid of ENDLESSLOVESHOW (Aphex Twin, Flying Lotus, Hudson Mohawk) and Carri Munden to bring it all to live.

Check out the first track ‘Caught in a Wave’ below and grab the new album on 11 May via Wichita records

Track List
1. Boids
2. Caught In A Wave
3. We Go
4. Gliders
5. Hey Sister
6. A Perfect Swarm
7. Defender
8. V Formation
9. Murmuration

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

You Might also Like