Type to search

Simian Mobile Disco announce “Anthology: 10 Years of SMD”


Formed from the ashes of psychedelic pop experimentalists, Simian, James Ford and Jas Shaw have been recording and performing as Simian Mobile Disco / SMD for over ten years and five studio albums.

Over the course of their career, their sound has continuously evolved from record to record. Their continual re-invention can sometimes seem, from the outside, like a series of jumps, but that’s an effect of the process of releasing an album every couple of years. For the band, the process has been smooth and gradual, naturally following shifts in their own tastes and the musical landscape in which they found themselves. The sound however is distinctive enough to hold their body of work in a coherent whole.

To celebrate the 10-year anniversary of their debut album ‘Attack Decay Sustain Release’, Wichita Records are releasing both the original LP, remastered and on double vinyl for the first time ever, on the 6th October along with a collection of B-Sides and rare tracks from the ‘Attack Decay Sustain Release’ era available digitally for the first time.

They have also announced a special digital compilation Anthology: 10 Years Of SMD, featuring tracks selected by the duo from across their whole catalogue, showcasing the continuous aesthetic thread that runs through their diverse body of work released digitally on 20th October.

Wichita Records will re-release Simian Mobile Disco’s debut album Attack Decay Sustain Release on 6 October along with a collection of B-sides and rare tracks, followed by Simian Mobile Disco: 10 Year Anthology on 20 October.

Simian Mobile Disco: Ten Year Anthology
01. Sleep Deprivation / ADSR
02. Tits & Acid / ADSR
03. Hustler / ADSR
04. Synthesise / Temporary Pleasure
05. Aspic / Delicacies
06. A Form of Change / A Form of Change EP
07. Cerulean / Unpatterns
08. 10000 Horses Can’t Be Wrong / Temporary Pleasure
09. Cruel Intentions / Temporary Pleasure
10. Seraphim / Unpatterns
11. Your Love Ain’t Fair / Unpatterns
12. Put Your Hands Together / Unpatterns
13. Sun Dogs / Whorl
14. Calyx / Whorl
15. Happening Distractions / Welcome To Sideways
16. Hachinoko (w’ Roman Flugel) / Hachinoko 12”
17. Remember In Reverse / Welcome To Sideways
18. Sacrifice (w’ Bicep) / Sacrifice 12”
19. I Believe / ADSR
20. Wheels Within Wheels / Wheels Within Wheels EP
21. Run (Run / Nike)

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

You Might also Like