Type to search

Sam Binga Details Debut Album, Wasted Days


Sam Binga
has explained the motivation behind his debut album, Wasted Days, set for release 11th September via Kasra‘s Critical Music.

A pioneer of the bass-heavy, grime, juke and hip hop-infused drum & bass also championed by the likes of Stray and Hyroglifics, Binga has been steadily growing an audience over several years, with notable releases on Exit Records and Critical.

An artist with a penchant for collaborations, Binga teams up for the majority of his 14-track (plus 3 digital bonuses), debut LP. Regular cohort Redders (with whom Binga dropped the mighty ‘Lef Dem’), Rider Shafique, Chimpo, Om Unit and Romaine feature amongst others, and a 10″ remix vinyl including Ivy Lab, Foreign Concept, Moresounds and Danny Scrilla is also on the way.

“This album is my small contribution to the ongoing – and endlessly inspiring – conversation between Jamaican sound system culture, US hip hop, and UK club music,” says Binga via press release. “There’s elements of grime, jungle, dancehall, footwork, crunk and more, but it’s all filtered through my experiences growing up through the aftermath of the original rave explosion, post ‘Summer Of Love’. In some ways, it’s also a love letter to everything my life in dance music has opened up to me – I grew up in a small, backwater monocultural town, yet from following a few discreet aspects of the things that make up this music, I’ve been able to work with people from all walks of life, from all over the world. And I’ve equally been able to take influences from all over the world, and gradually understand how to fit them into a coherent framework – my own coherent framework.”

Stream a tune from Wasted Days and check out the full tracklist below.


CD / Digital
01. Sam Binga ft Redders & Rider Shafique – Believe
02. Sam Binga ft Warrior Queen – Wasted Days
03. Sam Binga ft Redders & Rider Shafique – Pound 4 Pound
04. Sam Binga ft TT The Artist – Bad Bish
05. Sam Binga ft Slick Don – Run The Dance
06. Sam Binga & Hyroglifics – Dark Day
07. Sam Binga ft Rudey Lee – Stormy Weather
08. Sam Binga ft Rider Shafique – Mind & Spirit
09. Sam Binga ft Redders – Badman Skin
10. Sam Binga & Chimpo ft Fox & Rider Shafique – Necessary
11. Sam Binga – I Tol U
12. Sam Binga & Om Unit – Reclaim
13. Sam Binga ft Romaine – Greatest Distance
14. Sam Binga & Deft ft Chimpo, Fox & Redders – Steppin VIP
15. Sam Binga – One6Nine (Digital album extra)
16. Sam Binga – Boongooz (Digital album extra)
17. Sam Binga – Dub & Spirit (Digital album extra)

A1: Wasted Days (3:39)
A2: Badman Skin (2:22)
A3: One6Nine (2:30)
B1: Pound 4 Pound (3:40)
B2: I Tol U (4:09)
C1: Mind & Spirit (3:32)
C2: Dark Day (4:20)
D1: Bad Bish (2:53)
D2: Reclaim (4:14)

01. Greatest Distance ft. Romaine (Ivy Lab Remix)
02. AYO ft. Redders (Ivy Lab Remix)

Digital LP08LTD extras
Sam Binga & Deft – Steppin ft. Redders (Foreign Concept Remix)
Sam Binga – Stormy Weather ft. Rudey Lee (Danny Scrilla Remix)
Sam Binga – Tek Nuh Chat ft. Redders (Moresounds Remix)



You Might also Like