Type to search

Om Unit Announces New Long Player ‘Self’


Om Unit aka Jim Coles has announced his third studio album ‘Self’ which is due to be released on 27th October on Cosmic Bridge and a true follow-up to his 2013 debut ‘Threads’ following the ‘Inversion album’ for Metalheadz.

The first album on Coles’ own Cosmic Bridge label, ‘Self’ offers new forms amid familiar touches. Stripping away what people might expect, Coles deconstructed and reimagined his work so far as a challenge to himself and, in turn, to his fans. The album captures Coles in a period of growth, change, and experimentation. Inspired by ideas of self-healing, and the vision of the self as an egg — which Coles later on discovered was a Jungian archetype — the album blends dubwise, bass-heavy music with the space of ’80s-style experimental ambient compositions and the daring imagination of science fiction.

Check out the first track ‘Out of the Shadows’ below.


01. Cold Love
02. Passages
03. Out of the Shadows
04. Nothing (featuring Rider Shafique)
05. Unmasked
06. Make Believe (featuring DRS)
07. Twilight
08. Fieldofdreams
09. Despite It All
10. Cloudwerk
11. What I Can Be (featuring Amos)
12. Tahatan

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1