Type to search

Music News Stream

Nicolas Jaar’s Other People Celebrates 100th Release with Collaborative Track


unnamed (8)
Other People, the imprint run by American-Chilean mastermind Nicolas Jaar, is celebrating 100 issues with an inventive mass collaboration.

The concept is simple: first, Other People asked a bunch of its favourite artists to send them a single sound. Now when you’ve got Holly Herndon, William Basinski, Lorenzo Senni, Powell, Julia Holter, Dave Harrington, Earthen Sea, High Water, Vaghe Stelle, A Pleasure, Dj Slugo, Drew Gragg, Austin Caesar, ENA, John Bence and Solpara, contributing even the smallest clips, you know you’re off to a good start.

Next, those sounds were handed over to four drummers – specifically Eric Cha-Beach (So Percussion), Craig Weinrib (Henry Threadgill), Max Almario (Celestial Shore) and Jeremy Hyman (Avey Tare’s slasher flicks) – who control the samples through a new hardware/software system called Sensory Percussion created by Jaar’s longtime collaborator Tlacael Esparza.

The result is nothing short of magical. Entitled ‘Imaginary Feast’, the track has a unique depth and intriguing affect on the senses. Listen to the track via the link below and if you’re interested in the technology behind it, head over to Kickstarter for more info or to contribute to the project.