Type to search

Music News

Mike Dunn announces first album in 27 years


Chicago godfather Mike Dunn presents a new album ‘My House From All Angles’ coming via MoreaboutMusic records on 1st December.

Despite releasing countless classics like ‘Face The Nation’, ‘God Made Me Phunky’, ‘Let It Be House’ and ‘Personal Problem’, plus plenty more underground gems under pseudonyms like QX-1, The Jass Man, The Phunky People and The MD Connection – this is Mike’s first longplayer since 1990.

For anyone who knows their shit, Mike should need no introduction, but for those that don’t, he was highly influential in birthing the modern day dance music phenomenon, most notably as a major progenitor of acid house and he also had an essential role in creating hip house and DJd with fellow legends Larry Heard, Armando Gallop and Ron Hardy, who backed Dunn to follow in his footsteps.

Following huge gigs during the first house music explosion, Mike was forced into a 12 year exile from Europe, due to passport issues. Eventually, with the help of Potts, the issue was sorted and Mike returned in 2015 to rock crowds at Panorama Bar, Fabric, Concrete, Sub Club and Glastonbury, demonstrating why Dunn’s skills are still in high demand.

Check out a sampler below!

Vinyl tracklisting

1. Acid Rush (Vokal MixX)
2. Body Muzik (Album MixX)
3. Coal Mine (Album MixX) (
4. DJ Beat That Shhh Feat. MD X-Spress (Album MixX)
5. Have It 4U Babe Feat. Jass Mann (Album MixX)
6. Let’s Go! (Album MixX)
7. Modulation (Album MixX)
8. Move It, Work It(Album MixX)
9. The Frontier (9 – 1-1) (Album MixX)
10. The Wake- Up Call Feat. Dee Jay Alicia (MD Vokal MixX)
11. You R’ Feat. J.R. Jordan (New Album MixX)

Digital tracklisting

1. Acid Rush (Vokal MixX)
2. Body Muzik
3. Coal Mine
4. DJ Beat That Shhh Feat. MD X – Spress
5. Have It For You Babe Feat. Jass Mann
6. Let’s Go! (mastered)
7. Modulation
8. Move It, Work It (MD Vokal MixX)
9. The Frontier (Vokal MixX)
10. The Wake – Up Call Feat. Dee Jay Alicia (MD Vokal MixX)
11. You R’ Feat. J.R. Jordan (New Album MixX)
12. Phreaky MF (2017 MD RemixX) – digital bonus track
13. This Beat (Album MixX) – digital bonus track
14. If I Can’t Git Down (Album MixX) – digital bonus track

Grahame Farmer

Grahame Farmer’s love affair with electronic music goes back to the mid-90s when he first began to venture into the UK’s beloved rave culture, finding himself interlaced with some of the country’s most seminal club spaces. A trip to dance music’s anointed holy ground of Ibiza in 1997 then cemented his sense of purpose and laid the foundations for what was to come over the next few decades of his marriage to the music industry.

  • 1

You Might also Like