Type to search


Mason drops his ‘Frisky Biscuits’ LP on Toolroom


The highly respected Dutch artist releases his third artist album, a genre-hopping collection that delves into his influences and underlines his unique place in electronic music.

Iason Chronis a.k.a. Mason returns with ‘Frisky Biscuits’ his third L.P. and a rare artist album release on respected electronic music imprint, Toolroom. Mason effortlessly weaves between house, funk, disco, and the type of impossible-to-define sounds. These sounds have seen the Dutch artist consistently walk his own path in a 25-year career in electronic music. The 13-track album is littered with guest vocalists such as Jem Cooke of Camelphat ‘Breathe’ and ‘Rabbit Hole’ fame and Shingai (The Noisettes), all bringing their unique talents.

“As an artist, Mason sits in his own space – he doesn’t follow trends, and he has his own identity. When we sign talent at Toolroom, that’s exactly what we’re looking for. This album is a really creative and cohesive body of work – it’s a real listening journey, an experience.”Mark Knight Founder of Toolroom Records

Created wholly in lockdown conditions this album is an antidote to the Covid era. Realising that people needed something to smile about, Mason crafted a record that smacks of positivity and joy. This is not heads-down fuel for a dark Berlin warehouse but a soundtrack for dancing on picnic tables in the sun.

“I wanted to turn these weird times into something productive so I locked myself in studio like a true hermit. I’m hoping with this album to bring my share of warmth and positivity to this world, which I like to think we can all use these days.” Mason

In ‘Frisky Biscuits’ Mason is clearly enjoying himself as he dives into his influences and favourite sounds. The album takes a winding path through disco vibes, dips into Latin flavours and jumps in a puddle of funk while giving a wave to electronica. It slides from hip hop to bouncing, quirky house, through to overtly credible moments. However, somehow, it all pulls together with an inherent groove and sound which is uniquely Mason.

This album is undeniably a welcome addition to all music lovers collections!

Mason ‘Frisky Biscuits’ is out today (4th September) on Toolroom Records Stream / Download here


1 – Alive
2 – Drowning In Your Love (ft Jem Cooke)
3 – Platinum
4 – Watch What You Say
5 – Take It Down (ft Slang)
6 – Loosen Up (ft The Melody Men)
7 – Wrecking It Up (ft Lady Sanity)
8 – Flea Circus
9 – Fake Lights (ft Shingai)
10 – Rhythm In My Brain (Biscuit Cut)
11 – Game Time (ft That Kid CG & Gregers)
12 – The Colonel
13 – Reflection (ft Chenai)


You Might also Like