Type to search

Locked Up introduce BaSys with his ‘Reciprocation’ EP


If you didn’t already realise, Locked Up Music are passionate about introducing new artists to their roster and BaSys is a real talent who they are excited to unleash into the Drum & Bass community. The 5 track ‘Reciprocation’ EP is a work of art, full of soul, groove and depth. BaSys has collaborated with label boss Section, Bache and the vocal talents of V Recording’s SOFi MARi and Rachel K. We are sure you’re gonna love it as much as we do. 

BaSys grew up in Brixton and started making beats when he was about 14 on the Amiga using Octamed. BaSys and his group of friends were very musical, and everyone either DJed, Produced or MCed. He later released a track on Renegade Recordings with Interactive / Max Cyrus, and was often hanging down the Renegade Hardware HQ near Stockwell when he was around 21. After being inspired by what friends were doing in scene, he decided to dedicate himself to making the best possible drum and bass tracks while hopefully bringing production techniques from different genres and doing something a little different from other producers. BaSys and Section linked through mutual friends Taelimb and Conscience and have been working together for a few months, with more collaborations in the pipeline.

The title track has soul in abundance, with SOFi MARi demonstrating her vocal gymnastics by singing, ad-libbing and providing an Ursula Rucker-esque poem.

‘The Message’ is hard and dark with a real groove and depth, definitely one for the heads.

‘Lost’ is one of two tracks from the sublime vocal talents of Rachel K. Rachel is one to watch over the coming months who’s haunting style is a break from the norm.

‘Wendigo’ sees BaSys team up with Bache, another lesser known artist who clearly has an ear for catching a vibe.

Finishing up the EP is ‘Morning Light’, which takes you on a journey with Rachel K’s beautiful vocals and BaSys‘ unfailing attention to detail.

The ‘Reciprocation’ EP has already gained support from Bryan Gee, OB1, Taelimb, Kolectiv and of course, Section

Today we premiere the title track which you can check out below. The ‘Reciprocation’ EP drops on 26th July via Locked Up Music. Make sure you grab a copy for your collection using the purchase button beneath the Soundcloud player!


You Might also Like

Next Up