Type to search

Blog Podcasts

250 – Spectrasoul


Following hot on the heels of their amazing and long anticipated first album Delay No More, drum and bass powerhouse Spectrasoul weigh in to denote our landmark 250th Data Transmission Podcast mix. The earlier work of David Kennet and Jack Stevens elevated the once unknown Brighton outfit as a clear cut above the throng. Landing subsequent releases on Metalheadz, Critical, Exit and Subtitles, before returning to Shogun Audio with Glimpse and the pivotal Lost Disciple 12” in 2011, hammered home their reputation as master producers of a distinctive, hard hitting and profoundly ethereal brand of drum and bass music. After a year of radio silence, Spectrasoul surfaced last month with the debut album that achieved the unthinkable feat or surpassing the monumental hype that went before it and garnering critical acclaim across the board. Sum up this podcast in 10 words… A little snapshot of what we’re playing at the moment What’s your personal favourite track on it?Dave – Childhood Memories Jack – Triffidz What’s the special ingredient in this mix?A nice mixture of stylish, experimental, bass-driven music   What’s the best gig you’ve played recently? Probably our Album launch party in London a couple weeks back. Playing live for the first time was awesome, and it’s something that we’ll be looking to expand upon in the future.   What have you got coming up?  We’ve done a couple of remixes, some production work, and then we’re going to get back into the studio and crack on with the next project… whatever that may be! And finally, do you have a special message for our readers?Big thanks to everyone who has supported our music over the years. We could not have asked for a better reception to our album, so big thanks! Kennet and Stevens showcase their incredible DJing prowess for the 250th DT podcast, flirting with the confines of the 170bpm tempo mark and reaching outside of conventional drum and bass territory to cultivate an unique, unpredictable and particularly special mix.   Tracklisting 1/ SpectraSoul – Ish Chat 2/ Mutated Forms – Wastegash 3/ Dub Phizix & Skeptical feat. Sparkz – Half Man 4/ Breakage – Clarendon 5/ Om Unit – Ulysses 6/ Echo Park – Stop B4 we start (SpectraSoul Remix) 7/ Rockwell feat. Kito & Sam Frank – Childhood Memories 8/ Mutated Forms – Look what you have done 9/ EBK – The Flock 10/ Instramental feat. dBridge – Watching you 11/ Mutated Forms – Feels like 12/ Charlie XCX – You’re the one (Dub Phizix Remix) 13/ Om Unit & Baobinga – Triffidz 14/ Craggz & Parallell – Clandestine 15/ Jessie Ware – 110% 16/ Jubei – Say Nothing (Rockwell Remix) 17/ Fracture – Get Busy 18/ Dub Phizix – Yukon 19/ SpectraSoul – Buggin’ 20/ SpectraSoul feat. Terri Walker – Light in the Dark 21/ Fracture – Better than tomorrow 22/ SpectraSoul – Memento 22/ Bo’ Saris – She’s on fire (Calibre Remix) 23/ Dub Phizix – Clock Ticks 23/ Physics – Dream World (dBridge Remix) 24/ Extra Curricular – Last Day (SpectraSoul Remix)


Previous Article
Next Article

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Next Up